People make mistakes all the time. Failing to contact a competent attorney can compound your mistakes. With an attorney involved, you can be sure that you will get the best result possible. if there is an element the State may fail to prove, we will help you find it. If a plea is in your best interest, we will help you get it as quickly as possible, so you are back on the road in no time.
To be convicted of Operating Under the Influence, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts must prove , BEYOND A REASONABLE DOUBT each of the following:
1) That you were Operating;
2) On a Public Way;
3) Under the Influence (of Alcohol or Drugs)
Penalties for a first offense can include fines of $500 to $5000, not more than two years in prison and one year license suspension.
The license suspension will normally last for 30 days. First-time offenders may be eligible for alternative programs to speed up the process. One condition is that the offender must participate in an education program on drugs and alcohol on. There is also a period of license suspension from 45 to 90 days.
The penalties for driving under the influence in Massachusetts get more serious if you’re a repeat offender.
DISCLAIMER – The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Information viewed on this website IS NOT legal advice and SHOULD NOT be relied on without consulting an attorney.